Presidents of Argentina

Want some interesting facts and information on the Presidents of Argentina?

Argentina has had a long, turbulent and colourful history. In between military rule and presidencies Argentina has seen Presidents come and go.

Below is a list of some interesting facts and information about Presidents of Argentina.

* The President elected most times: Juan Perón, three terms.
* The President who held office longest: Julio Argentino Roca, for 12 years, on two terms.
* The President who held office for most time continuously: Carlos Menem, for 10 years and 5 months, on two terms.
* The First President: Bernardino Rivadavia.
* The First President under the present Constitution: Justo José de Urquiza.
* The First President born an Argentine citizen (i.e. not a Spanish subject): Bartolomé Mitre, in 1821.
* The First President born in the twentieth century: Pedro Eugenio Aramburu, in 1903.
* The First de facto President: José Félix Uriburu.
* The Last de facto President: Reynaldo Bignone.
* The only female President: Isabel Perón.
* Presidents who were father and son: Luis and Roque Sáenz Peña.
* Father who was President and son who was Vice-President: Julio Argentino Roca and Julio Argentino Roca, Jr.
* Presidents who were brothers-in-law: Julio A. Roca and Miguel Juárez Celman
* Presidents who were husband and wife: Juan Perón and Isabel Perón.
* Presidents who died in office: Manuel Quintana, Roque Sáenz Peña, Roberto Marcelino Ortiz and Juan Perón.
* Presidents who were assassinated: Justo José de Urquiza and Pedro Eugenio Aramburu, both after concluding their terms.

( No ratings yet )